International Ice Hockey Federation

2018 Olympic Winter Games

2018 Olympic Winter Games

Women's tournament

Published 25.09.2017 22:36 GMT+11 | Author Contributed
2018 Olympic Winter Games
SOCHI, RUSSIA - FEBRUARY 20: Canada poses with their gold medal at centre ice after their victory over USA during women's gold medal game action at the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games.(Photo by Andre Ringuette/HHOF-IIHF Images)
The 2018 Olympic Winter Games will take place in PyeongChang, Korea, 9-25 February 2018.

The men’s and women’s ice hockey tournaments are scheduled to take place at venues in the city of Gangneung. Korea as the host nation will be qualified for both the men’s and women’s tournaments.

For the 2018 Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament the top-5 nations of the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Ranking will be automatically qualified and seeded according to the ranking. The two qualifiers will be determined in the three stages of the Olympic Qualification during the 2016/2017 season according to the schematic below.

The 2018 Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament will be played according to the same format used in Sochi 2014 with two groups of four teams each. The four teams from Group A and the top two teams from Group B will advance to the final round with the top two teams of Group A set for the semi-finals.



Back to Overview